Upcoming Match-ups
  • The Heisman Trophy is college football’s most prestigious individual award
  • Reigning Heisman-winner Caleb Williams has opened as the favorite in the 2023 Heisman Trophy odds
  • See the latest 2023 Heisman odds for the favorites and longshots, starting from last year’s title game right up to award week

Every season, this page tracks the favorites for college football’s most prestigious award, the Heisman Trophy, by averaging out the futures available at major online sportsbooks.

Predicting who will win is a difficult exercise, especially in the preseason. From 2018 to 2020, the winner – Kyler Murray (2018), Joe Burrow (2019), and Devota Smith (2020) – was either off the board or extreme an longshot before Week 1. Bryce Young finally bucked that trend in 2021, opening as the second-favorite and never falling out of the top five. Caleb Williams (2022) was also among the top-five favorites throughout the 2022 season.

Jump to: Heisman Favorites / Heisman Longshots

2023 Heisman Odds

  • Jan. 10: No surprise here. Reigning Heisman-winner Caleb Williams has opened as a sizable favorite to repeat in 2023

Heisman Favorites 2023

Player Odds
Caleb Williams (QB, USC) +400
Drake May (QB, UNC) +1000
Michael Penix Jr (QB, Washington) +1200
Bo Nix (QB, Oregon) +1200
Jordan Travis (QB, Florida State) +1200
Sam Hartman (QB, Wake Forest) +1800
Drew Allar (QB, Penn State) +2000
Jayden Daniels (QB, LSU) +2000
Joe Milton (QB, Tennessee) +2000
Kyle McCord (QB, Ohio State) +2000
Cade Klubnik (QB, Clemson) +2500
Quinn Ewers (QB, Texas) +2500
JJ McCarthy (QB, Michigan) +3000
Brock Vandagriff (QB, Georgia) +3000
Blake Corum (RB, Michigan) +3000
Carson Beck (QB, Georgia) +4000
Ty Simpson (QB, Alabama) +4000
Dillon Gabriel (QB, Oklahoma) +4000
Nick Singleton (RB, Penn State) +5000
Jeff Sims (QB, Georgia Tech) +5000
Marvin Harrison Jr (WR, Ohio State) +5000
Will Shipley (RB, Clemson) +6000
Cam Rising (QB, Utah) +6000

Odds as of Jan. 12, 2023, at FanDuel Sportsbook.


2023 Heisman Trophy Public Betting Splits


Heisman Trophy Longshots

Who Usually Wins the Heisman Trophy?

Quarterbacks had a run of four straight Heismans broken in 2020 by Alabama WR Devonta Smith. On the whole, though, pivots are still dominating.

Heisman Trophy Winners Since 2000

Year Player Position
2022 Caleb Williams Quarterback
2021 Bryce Young Quarterback
2020 Devonta Smith Wide Receiver
2019 Joe Burrow Quarterback
2018 Kyler Murray Quarterback
2017 Baker Mayfield Quarterback
2016 Lamar Jackson Quarterback
2015 Derrick Henry Running back
2014 Marcus Mariota Quarterback
2013 Jameis Winston Quarterback
2012 Johnny Manziel Quarterback
2011 Robert Griffin III Quarterback
2010 Cam Newton Quarterback
2009 Mark Ingram Jr Running back
2008 Sam Bradford Quarterback
2007 Tim Tebow Quarterback
2006 Troy Smith Quarterback
2005 Reggie Bush Running back
2004 Matt Leinart Quarterback
2003 Jason White Quarterback
2002 Carson Palmer Quarterback
2001 Eric Crouch Quarterback
2000 Chris Weinke Quarterback

For those of you playing along at home, that’s 19 QBs, three running backs, and one receiver.

Before Devonta Smith’s win in 2020, the last Heisman to go to a non-QB/RB was Charles Woodson in 1997. Before that, it was Desmond Howard in 1991, then Johnny Rodgers (who was kind of a running back) in 1972, and then Notre Dame end Leon Hart in 1949.

Position Number of Heisman Trophies since 2000
Quarterback 19
Running back 3
All others 1

Where Can You Bet on the Heisman Trophy?

Every major sportsbook in the country offers NCAA futures odds, which always include the Heisman Trophy odds. Bettors may notice that some sites take their Heisman odds down on Saturdays while games are being played. Don’t panic. They will be back once oddsmakers have had to time reflect on the day’s results and adjust accordingly.

The main list of legal sportsbooks offering Heisman futures odds in 2022 is as follows:

Heisman Trophies by Conference

The SEC and Big Ten have dominated the top preseason top-25 favorites lately. But while the SEC has actually followed through with their Heisman Trophy candidates lately, the Big Ten has only produced two winners since 2000 and none since 2006 (Troy Smith, Ohio State).

Conference Heisman Trophies since 2000
Big 12 5
Pac-12 5
Big Ten 2

Archived Heisman Trophy Odds: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018