Upcoming Match-ups
  • This page monitors the average odds to win the 2023 AL and NL Cy Young Awards
  • Gerrit Cole (AL) and Spencer Strider (NL) are the early favorites in the 2023 Cy Young odds
  • See where the MLB Cy Young odds sit now and how they have changed since opening

The graphs below display the average odds to win the 2023 AL and NL Cy Young Awards. The averages are calculated based on the odds available at reliable online sportsbooks.

Under the graphs, find an annotated timeline which describes major changes in the odds and why they happened.

Jump to: American League / National League

American League Cy Young Odds

Get Up To $1,000 Back if You Don't Win Your First Bet!
Must be 21+. T&C Apply. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER
$1,000 BACK



  • Feb. 23: New Rangers ace Jacob deGrom has opened as the +500 favorite in his first year in the American League.

Odds to Win AL Cy Young

Player  Odds
Gerrit Cole (NYY) +400
Shane McClanahan (TB) +400
Shohei Ohtani (LAA) +800
Luis Castillo (SEA) +1200
Kevin Gausman (TOR) +1200
Joe Ryan (MIN) +1400
Sonny Gray (MIN) +1800
George Kirby (SEA) +2000
Nathan Eovaldi (TEX) +2000
Eduardo Rodriguez (DET) +3500
Shane Bieber (CLE) +4000
Logan Gilbert (SEA) +5000
Pablo Lopez (MIN) +6000
Hunter Brown (HOU) +6000
Chris Sale (BOS) +8000
Chris Bassitt (TOR) +8000
Jacob deGrom (TEX) +8000
Dylan Cease (CHW) +10000
Cristian Javier (HOU) +10000
Alek Manoah (TOR) +10000
Nestor Cortes (TOR) +10000
Lucas Giolito (CHW) +10000
Patrick Sandoval (LAA) +10000

Odds as of May 21 at FanDuel Sportsbook. Claim a FanDuel Sportsbook promo code.   

Looking for the latest MLB odds? – Get current moneyline odds, run lines, and totals for all upcoming games today here.

2023 National League Cy Young Odds

  • Feb. 23: The opening odds see reigning-winner Sandy Alcantara roughly level with 2021-winner Corbin Burnes at the top of the board (+500) with the Mets’ prized offseason acquisition, Justin Verlander, third. 

Odds to Win NL Cy Young

Player Odds
Spencer Strider (ATL) +220
Zac Gallen (ARI) +300
Clayton Kershaw (LAD) +1000
Mitch Keller (PIT) +1500
Zack Wheeler (PHI) +2000
Julio Urias (LAD) +2300
Justin Steele (CHC) +2500
Jesus Luzardo (MIA) +4000
Freddy Peralta (MIL) +4000
Justin Verlander (NYM) +4000
Corbin Burnes (MIL) +4500
Aaron Nola (PHI) +5000
Sandy Alcantara (MIA) +5000
Yu Darvish (SD) +5500
Dustin May (LAD) +5500
Max Scherzer (NYM) +6500
Alex Cobb (SF) +6500
Max Fried (ATL) +7500
Logan Webb (SF) +7500
Brandon Woodruff (MIL) +8000
Marcus Stroman (CHC) +8000
Joe Musgrove (SD) +8000
Hunter Greene (CIN) +8000
Bryce Elder (ATL) +8000

Odds as of May 21 at FanDuel Sportsbook. Claim a FanDuel Sportsbook promo code.   


AL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Boston Red Sox 7
Baltimore Orioles 6
Cleveland Indians 6
Detroit Tigers 5
Oakland A’s 5
Toronto Blue Jays 4
Minnesota Twins 4
Kansas City Royals 4
Houston Astros 3
New York Yankees 3
Chicago White Sox 2
Milwaukee Brewers 2
Seattle Mariners 2
LA Angels 2
Tampa Bay Rays 2

NL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Philadelphia Phillies 7
Los Angeles Dodgers 7
New York Mets 7
Atlanta Braves 6
Arizona Diamondbacks 5
Chicago Cubs 5
San Diego Padres 4
St. Louis Cardinals 3
San Francisco Giants 3
Houston Astros 2
Pittsburgh Pirates 2
Washington Nationals 2
Cincinnati Reds 1
Miami Marlins 1
Montreal Expos 1

The tables above pertain to 1967 to the present day. The Cy Young Award was first handed out in 1956, but for the first 11 years, there was only one award for both leagues.  Dodgers players won an additional five in that span. Yankee players won two. The Braves, White Sox, Pirates, and Angels won one.

AL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

American League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Texas Rangers

The Rangers are the only American League club to have never produced a Cy Young winner. Texas came close in 1989 when Nolan Ryan led the league in strikeouts and finished fifth in Cy Young voting.

NL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

National League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Colorado Rockies

Pitchers with Multiple Cy Young Awards

Pitcher Number of Cy Young Awards
Roger Clemens 7
Randy Johnson 5
Steve Carlton 4
Greg Maddux 4
Sandy Koufax 3
Pedro Martinez 3
Jim Palmer 3
Tom Seaver 3
Clayton Kershaw 3
Max Scherzer 3
Justin Verlander 3
Bob Gibson 2
Tom Glavine 2
Roy Halladay 2
Corey Kluber 2
Tim Lincecum 2
Denny McLain 2
Gaylord Perry 2
Bret Saberhagen 2
Johan Santana 2
Jacob deGrom 2

Archived Cy Young Odds: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018

Author Image

Sascha was a hockey player in his youth, a lawyer in his capricious mid-20s, and has been with SBD since 2014. He covers everything you can bet on, but specializes in football, basketball, politics, baseball, and hockey.